Skip to main content

Meet the TPIC Team

Staff & Advisors

The TPIC team represents diverse areas of expertise and a shared commitment to guiding and supporting all Penn Carey Law students on their pro bono and public interest journeys.

Kenisha Askew

  Director of Operations

Sarah Egoville

  Associate Director for Pro Bono Impact
Alexandra Jerez

Alexandra Jerez

  Public Interest and Pro Bono Coordinator
Jennifer Pierce

Jennifer Pierce

  Associate Director for Pro Bono Initiatives
Emily R. Sutcliffe

Emily R. Sutcliffe

  Assistant Dean for Public Interest & Executive Director
Ayanna Williams

Ayanna Williams

  Director for Public Interest Initiatives

Penn Carey Law Faculty, Staff, & Student Public Service Committee

TPIC convenes the Public Service Committee, comprised of members of the faculty, staff, and student body. The committee broadly oversees Penn Carey Law’s public service programming and the implementation of the Law School’s pro bono requirement. 


Sarah Paoletti

Sarah Paoletti

Practice Professor of Law; Director, Transnational Legal Clinic

Toll Public Interest Center Advisory Board

The Toll Public Interest Center (TPIC) Advisory Board is comprised of experts from nonprofit, government, and private sectors. Driven by experience and commitment, the Advisory Board enhances TPIC’s connections to the communities it serves, keeps TPIC well-informed of developments in public service, and offers mentorship to students and alumni.


Joseph A. Sullivan
Pepper Hamilton

Karl Baker
Defender Association of Philadelphia

Valerie Baron
National Resources Defense Council

Catherine C. Carr
Community Legal Services, Inc.

Valerie De Cruz
Penn Greenfield Intercultural Center

Umi Howard
The Wharton School

Jennifer Kates
Philadelphia City Council

Claudia Johnson

Judge Gerald A. McHugh, Jr.
Eastern District of Pennsylvania

Anita Santos
Philadelphia Legal Assistance

Harper Seldin
Cozen O’Connor

Janet Stotland
Education Law Center

Joanna Visser Adjoian
Youth Sentencing & Reentry Project