Skip to main content area Skip to main content area Skip to institutional navigation Skip to search Skip to section navigation

Ilya Rudyak, SJD Candidate

  • Profile Image

Student Bio

Ilya Rudyak joined Penn Law S.J.D. program in 2013 and was designated as the 2013-2014 Fox Fellow. Prior to that, Ilya graduated with distinction from Penn Law LL.M. program (which he joined as a Dean’s Scholar), and was the recipient of the LL.M. Excellence Award. Ilya also holds a joint LL.B. degree in law and psychology from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, and before coming to Penn he practiced law as a litigation attorney in a top law firm in Israel, worked as an educator at Yad Vashem, the Holocaust Martyrs’ and Heroes’ Remembrance Authority, and served aboard the Israeli Navy Dolphin Class submarines as the Head of Weapons Department.

Ilya’s primary research interests lie at the intersection of criminal law, international humanitarian law and the morality of war. He also has a special interest in the legal and moral aspects of the Holocaust and their connection to the contemporary perceptions of the rule of law.

Currently, Ilya serves as the Director of Research at Penn Law School’s Center for Ethics and the Rule of Law, and is the Center’s inaugural Fellow in National Security and Ethics. In addition, Ilya is a Research Writing Fellow for Penn Law’s LL.M. program, and a member of Penn Law’s Criminal Law Research Group American Criminal Code project.


  • Criminal Law
  • International Humanitarian Law
  • Law and Morality
  • Military Law
  • Law and the Holocaust
  • University of Pennsylvania Law School Fox Fellowship (2013-2014)
  • Penn Law European Society Karen Iest Award (excellence award granted to the Valedictorian of the LL.M. class, 2013)
  • University of Pennsylvania Law School Pro Bono Project Legacy Award (2013)
  • Auschwitz Jewish Center William Donat Fellowship (2013)
  • University of Pennsylvania Law School Dean’s Scholarship Award (2012-2013)
  • Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Hon. Judge Tebi Miller Award for Excellence in a joint degree program (2009)