When opening email attachments, the files are stored in a hidden temp directory on your computer. If you edit the attachment and decide to save your changes, the document will be saved back to that temp directory by default. This behavior can cause your newly edited files to be lost or deleted.
To prevent email attachments from being saved in temp locations, you can do one of two things:
- Once the attachment is opened, use the editing program’s “Save As” function and choose where you would like it to be saved, or
- Save email attachments prior to opening them by right-clicking on the attachment and selecting “Save As”.
For more information on how to save or open attachments directly from emails, please visit Microsoft’s support documentation.