#8 Restore Accidentally Modified or Deleted Files with Previous Versions

December 22, 2010

We’ve all had it happen. After a long day’s work, you save an important document and leave for the day. When you return the next morning you discover that you accidentally deleted an important paragraph that would take hours to recreate. If you are saving your files on the U: or G: drive, you have nothing to worry about thanks to Previous Versions. 

Previous Versions lets you view snapshots of your network drives to restore older or deleted copies of your files. Previous Versions can even help when you’ve accidentally overwritten an important file.
 
Backups are stored every 4 hours for the previous day, daily for the previous week, and weekly for the previous month. If you’re saving on the G: drive, you can even access hourly backups for the previous day.
 
You can restore a previous version with 3 easy steps:
  1. Right-click on any folder on a network drive and choose Properties.
  2. On the Previous Versions tab, select the time that you want to restore and clickView.
  3. The folder that appears is a snapshot at that specific time. From here you can open or copy and paste the file to another location.

Latest News

  • Please review our instructions carefully. ITS will also have a pop-up Help Desk at the Clock April 17, 19 and 20 from noon-1pm for students who need help.
  • The Box team recently announced a new and improved, more personalized user experience with interface changes and backend improvements. Read on for more details