#65 Empty your Deleted Items folder Automatically when Exiting Outlook

June 23, 2011

We’re all familiar with how easy it is to let our email accounts get large. With all the attachments and messages we receive on a daily basis, it is important to delete unneeded mail to keep your mailbox in top condition. If you’re always forgetting to take the final step of emptying your Deleted Items folder, you can have Outlook do it automatically when you close the program.

Outlook 2010

  • From the File menu, choose Options.
  • Click Advanced on the left-hand column, select Empty the Deleted Items folders when exiting Outlook, and click OK.

Outlook 2007

  • From the Tools  menu, choose Options.
  • On the Other tab, select Empty the Deleted Items folder upon exiting and click OK.

Latest News

  • Please review our instructions carefully. ITS will also have a pop-up Help Desk at the Clock April 17, 19 and 20 from noon-1pm for students who need help.
  • The Box team recently announced a new and improved, more personalized user experience with interface changes and backend improvements. Read on for more details