Skip to main content area Skip to main content area Skip to institutional navigation Skip to search Skip to section navigation


The Biddle Law Library sincerely appreciates the donors who have provided gifts over the last 130 years. Biddle Law Library places print and/or electronic bookplates on materials purchased with endowed funds, as well as those purchased in honor of commencement award recipients.

Endowed Funds

Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll Book Fund

Established in 1988, this fund supports the purchase of library materials falling within the area of environmental law.

Anna and Jonas Berger Memorial Space Law Collection

Established in 1986 through a gift made by the Honorable Harold Berger (EE’48, L’51), this fund supports an air and space law collection within the Biddle Law Library.

Thomas McGrew Memorial Library Fund

Endowed in 1997 in memory of Thomas L. McGrew (L’70), this fund support the purchase of library materials in the area of first amendment and advertising law.

Caroline Zelaznik Gruss and Joseph S. Gruss, PAR’64 Fund

Established in 1988, this endowed fund supports the purchase of library materials relating to the topic of Talmudic law.

Commencement Awards

Frank H. Gelman Prize

The income from this endowment fund is used to award $100 to the winner.  Remaining income is used to purchase books in the field of real property and real estate transactions.

Noyes E. Leech Award

This term gift fund was established in 2010 in the memory of former Professor Noyes E. Leech.  The winner of this award receives no monetary prize.  Each year a portion of the gift balance is used to purchase books in the field of international law to honor Leech and the award winner.

Blank Rome LLP Alvin S. Ackerman Prize:

The income from this endowment fund is used to provide a cash award consistent with other prizes.  Remaining income is to be used to purchase books in any field to recognizing the donor.

Oscar Bregman Prize

This award for excellence in the field of Business Law was established to provide a $500 cash award to the winner.  The award was a condition attached to the 1988 gift of $25,000 from Lillian Bregman to the Biddle Endowment Fund. 


Wapner, Newman & Wigrizer Award

This restricted gift account receives an annual gift from the donor to be split for cash awards and book purchases.  The fund is used for a $100 cash award to the winner, and the remaining funds are used to purchase books in the field of trial advocacy.  [Note: As of 2010, the Wapner Newman & Wigrizer Award is no longer funded or awarded.]


Unrestricted Endowment Funds

These generous contributions give us the flexibility to meet changing conditions of legal trends, technology, and the needs of our students.

Helen and Isadore Bellis (W’40 L’45) Book Fund

Established in 1998, in memory of S. Harry Galfand (L’45) and in honor of Leonard Sarner (C’38 L’41; now deceased).

Biddle Law Library Endowment Fund

Established in 1964.

Frederick Lukens Clark Law School Acquisitions Fund

Established in 1987, via gift of stock from John Randolph Young, L’30.

Captain Clarence Patton Freeman Fund

Established in 1958, via bequest under will of Harold A. Freeman

Harry Fuiman Book Fund

Established in 2000. Harry Fuiman was C’19 L’22.

Beatrice and Martin S. Goodman Fund

Established in1979.

The Lester Fund

Established in 1939, via bequest of Joseph G. Lester.

The Harvey Levin Memorial Fund

Established in1977. 

Robert E. Penn Memorial Book Fund

Established in1997, in honor of Robert Penn L’60.

Harry Polikoff Library Fund

Established in 1996 from Stanley Newman in honor of Harry Polikoff, L’31, on the occasion of Polikoff’s 90th birthday. The income from this endowment will be used to purchase books, periodicals, other printed material, computer programs, computer applications, and other data with a preference for the fields of Constitutional Law.

William S. Stein Fund

Established in 1997, via bequest from Verna Stein, in honor of her late husband William, L’28. The purpose of this gift is to establish the William S. Stein Fund, the income from which is to be used to purchase books, journals and other materials with a preference for those which will facilitate the study of real property law including land use and development, real estate finance and taxation, landlord and tenant law, zoning and urban development

Judge J. Whitaker Thompson Memorial Library Fund

Established in 1938.

University of Pennsylvania Class of 1938 Law Library Fund

Established in 1978, to allow for the dedication of appropriate books in the Law Library in memory of deceased classmates.

W. Wilson White Memorial Fund

Established in 1965 for acquisition of suitable books for the Biddle Law Library with a preference for the subjects of individual and human rights.

Ellis D. Williams/Class of 1868 Law Fund

Established in 1928.

Dr. Nathaniel W. Winkelman Book Fund

Established in 1956, via contribution from Edwyn Silverberg, W’35 L’41. Used to acquire law books, with a preference for those in the field of medical jurisprudence, for placement in the Law School Library.