Publish/Unpublish your Course
When a course is first created in Canvas, it is unpublished by default. Students enrolled in the course will not be able to see any of the course content or tools until the course is published.
Instructors can publish their course at any time. For SRS courses managed by the Registrar, all courses will be published when enrollment is added.
Instructors can revert back and unpublish a course if they would like more time to prepare the course site. Just click the unpublish button on the course home page (see below).
Note: a course can be unpublished at any time as long as no student assignments/quizzes have been submitted.