ITS can assist you in troubleshooting your computer problems remotely. With your permission, ITS staff will be able to remotely connect and share your screen, mouse and keyboard to quickly resolve your problem.
Connecting a Remote Session
If you have requested assistance and are logged in to your computer, the following message will be displayed when a member of the ITS staff initiates a remote connection:
You will be prompted to allow ITS to connect to your computer. Select ‘Approve’ to allow the connection.
If you are in doubt about a remote session, select Deny and the user will not be able to access your computer.
Note: The member of the ITS staff is identified by the NET\username portion of the message. You should only approve the remote control session if a known member of the ITS staff is requesting permission.
Watch a Brief Demo
Once the remote control session is connected, there are two ways to confirm that your computer is being remotely controlled:
1) A green bar will appear at the top of your screen saying that you are connected.
2) A small icon will appear in the bottom right corner in the taskbar. This small icon may disappear after a short time, but the green bar at the top will always be there.
During a remote control session, you may see the message below. This is normal during a remote control session and can be ignored.
While connected, it is possible for the ITS staff member to lock your keyboard and mouse so they will not work. If this is done, you will see a lock icon in the green bar at the top of your screen.
Ending Your Support Session
You can disconnect the remote session at any time by clicking on the X on the right-hand side of the green bar at the top of the screen.