Skip to main content area Skip to main content area Skip to institutional navigation Skip to search Skip to section navigation

Quattrone Center for the Fair Administration of Justice

About Us



John F. Hollway

Executive Director

John F. Hollway C’92 is Associate Dean and Executive Director of the Quattrone Center for the Fair Administration of Justice at the University of Pennsylvania Law School.

Hollway is the author of Killing Time: An 18-Year Odyssey from Death Row to Freedom, which covered the case of John Thompson, a Louisiana Death Row inmate who was exonerated and freed after 18 years in prison.  Thompson was the plaintiff in the pivotal Supreme Court decision, Connick v. Thompson. Killing Time won the National Independent Book Award for non-fiction in 2011, and was one of the Chicago Sun-Times’ Best Books of the Year in 2010.

In 2012, he founded Hollway Advisory Services, a consulting firm specializing in criminal justice reform research projects, including the California Wrongful Convictions Project, which is identifying and measuring the costs of all wrongful convictions in California state and federal courts.

Hollway graduated from Penn in 1992 with a BA in Diplomatic History and a minor in East Asian Studies, and received his JD with honors from the George Washington University Law School.

Affiliated Faculty

  • David Abrams Professor of Law, Business Economics, and Public Policy
  • Stephanos Bibas

    Professor of Law and Criminology
    Director, Supreme Court Clinic

  • Cary Coglianese

    Edward B. Shils Professor of Law and Professor of Political Science
    Director, Penn Program on Regulation

  • Lee Fleisher

    Robert D. Dripps Professor and Chair of Anesthesiology & Critical Care Professor of Medicine, Perelman School of Medicine
    Senior Fellow, Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics

  • John MacDonald

    Associate Professor of Criminology and Sociology
    Chair, Department of Criminology

  • Emily Owens

    Associate Professor of Criminology
    Undergraduate Chair

  • Steven Raper

    Vice-Chairman, Quality and Risk Management
    Associate Professor of Surgery
    Department of Surgery, Perelman School of Medicine

  • David Rudovsky

    Senior Fellow