Skip to main content area Skip to main content area Skip to institutional navigation Skip to search Skip to section navigation

Center for Ethics and the Rule of Law



Claire Finkelstein
Founder and Faculty Director of CERL, Algernon Biddle Professor of Law and Professor of Philosophy

Paul G. Haaga, Jr.
CERL Executive Board Chair, NPR Board of Directors, Chairman of the Board, Capital Research and Managem ent Company, retired

CERL Executive Director

Executive Board Members

Harold Berger
Senior Partner and Managing Principal
Berger&Montague P.C.

William Craven
Chairman of Federal Systems
Norristown, NJ

Dell L. Dailey
Dell Dailey and Family, CERL
Executive Board Emeritus, Former Ambassador-
at-Large, Department
of State

Arlene Fickler

Partner, Schnader Attorneys at Law

Kevin Govern
Professor of Law
Ave Maria School of Law


Duncan MacIntosh
Professor of Philosophy
Dalhousie University

Alberto Mora
Senior Fellow
Harvard Kennedy School, Carr Center for Human Rights Policy
Christopher W. Morris
Professor of Philosophy
University of Maryland
Jens Ohlin
Vice Dean and Professor of Law
Cornell University Law School
Connie Rosati
Associate Professor, Philosophy
University of Arizona
Stephen Xenakis
Brigadier General (Ret) U.S. Army

Erik Erikson Scholar
The Austen Riggs Center

Jules Zacher
Board Member Council For a Livable World

Advisory Council

Anita Allen
Henry R. Silverman Professor of Law and Professor of Philosophy
University of Pennsylvania

William Burke-White
Richard Perry Professor and Inaugural Director, Perry World House;
Professor of Law
University of Pennsylvania

Stuart Diamond
Emeritus Practice Professor of Legal Studies and Business Ethics, the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania

Edna B. Foa
Professor of Clinical Psychology in Psychiatry, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania


David Gauthier
Professor Emeritus, Philosophy Department
University of Pittsburgh

Philadelphia, PA 12/12/2013 Derek Gillman the director of the Barnes Foundation. Gillman will be leaving the Barnes at the end of 2013 to work at Drexel University.
Derek Gillman

Distinguished Teaching Professor, Visual Studies
Drexel University

Michael C. Horowitz
Associate Professor of Political Science
University of Pennsylvania

David S. Jonas
Partner, Fluet Huber + Hoang PLLC
Firoozeh Kashani-Sabet 
Robert I. Williams Term Professor of History, Director of the Middle East Center
University of Pennsylvania

Vijay Kumar
Nemirovsky Family Dean of Penn Engineering
University of Pennsylvania

Martin Lederman

Associate Professor of Law
Georgetown University

Sharon Lloyd

Professor of Philosophy, Law, and Political Science
University of Southern California

Larry May 
W. Alton Jones Professor of Philosophy, Professor of Law, Professor of Political Science
Vanderbilt University

Jeff McMahan
White’s Professor of Moral Philosophy,
University of Oxford 

Paul E. Menoher, Jr.
Lieutenant General (Ret.), US Army

Mary Ellen O’Connell
Robert and Marion Short Professor of Law and Research Professor of International Dispute Resolution
University of Notre Dame Law School

Harvey Rubin
Director of the Institute for Strategic Threat Analysis and Response (ISTAR), and Associate Dean for Student Affairs in the School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania

Stephen Sheller

Founding Partner, Sheller P.C.
 Rogers Smith
Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Political Science
University of Pennsylvania




Laurence Neill Nathan

CERL Visiting Fellow,
June 2017 - December 2017

Carlton Haelig<br/> <p align="LEFT">CERL Junior Fellow</p>
Carlton Haelig

CERL Junior Fellow

Nicholas Saidel
CERL Fellow,
Spring 2017


Faculty Support Staff

Elisabeth Aulepp
Events Coordinator
Jennifer Evans
Assistant Supervisor and Center & Institute Coordinator