A Message from the Dean
The Once and Future Penn Law
IP Matures to Meet Demands of Hi-Tech Age
Shanin Specter Brings Precision to the Classroom
Faculty Notes & Publications
The Board of Overseers
Alumni Briefs
In Memoriam & In Tribute
Case Closed
Penn Law Homepage
Alumni Briefs 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11

Leon S. Forman C36, L39 has been selected as the 2002 recipient of the Dennis H. Replansky Memorial Award. Commemorating the former Blank Rome partner, the award recognizes high professionalism, service to the bar and the community, and the mentoring of young lawyers. Forman is senior counsel in the Financial Services department of Blank Rome.

Alvin R. Schomer C47, L50

Alvin R. Schomer C47, L50 has become of counsel to Price and Price, LLC after serving as a judge for more than 21 years in two local municipalities. Schomer is chairman of the Haddonfield Human Relations Commission and serves on the Catholic-Jewish Commission of Southern New Jersey.

Edward W. Madeira C49, L52 Edward W. Madeira C49, L52, partner and chairman emeritus of Pepper Hamilton LLP, has been appointed chair of ABAs Commission on the 21st Century Judiciary. The commission will identify methods to decrease partisanship in state court judiciaries. The commission will promote merit selection of judges or public financing of judicial campaigns. Madeira will take serve with the two honorary co-chairs: former FBI director and District Judge William Sessions; and former Presidential counsel and Chief Judge Abner Mikva.

William A. Whiteside L54, former partner at Fox Rothschild OBrien Frankel, has been named chairman of the board of the Police Athletic League of Philadelphia, a nonprofit youth service organization.

Arthur Levy W52, L55, was selected by the American Inns of Court Foundation Charter No.28 to receive the Guy D. deFuria award in recognition of his professional life and abilities as a trial lawyer. He is president of the Delaware County Legal Assistance Association and a shareholder and Municipal Law Department chair at Eckell Sparks Levy Auerbach Monte Rainer & Sloane P.C.

James M. Mulligan, Jr. L57, received the 2002 Daniel L. Herrmann Professional Conduct Award, recognizing his distinguished service on the Delaware Bar. Mulligan is a partner at the Connolly Bove Lodge & Hutz in Wilmington, Del. He practices in the Corporate, Commercial and Business Group.

The latest edition of The Best Lawyers of America includes : Bruce L. Castor L54 (of Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll); Stanford Shmukler W51, L54 (of Roda & Nast); Michael M. Dean L57, Michael L. Temin L57 and Jack A. Rounick L59 (all of Wolf Block Schorr & Solis-Cohen).

  Next Page