A Message from the Dean
Mission Iraq
A 1L Odyssey, Part 2
Isabelle Johnston Bids Farewell
Gloria Watts, Beloved Registrar, Gets Big Send-Off
The Brief
Graduation / Reunion
The Board of Overseers
Faculty News & Publications
Alumni Briefs
In Memoriam
News & Events:
Penn Law Receives Rare Honor from Burton Awards

Keedy Cup Goes to Team of Rubin and Gomez
Students Get Up Close Look at Workings of Pa. Superior Court
Head of Common Cause Decries Big-Money Politics, Bad Medicare Bill
Former NCC President Counsels “We the People” To Follow Museum’s Lead and Develop Philadelphia
Wax Exhorts Blacks to Take Responsibility for Academic Success
LALSA Celebrates Work of Latinos at Fun-Filled La Gran Fiesta
Hands-On Human Rights Seminar Debuts
Federal Housing Act Focus of Sparer Symposium
71 Percent of 3Ls Exceed Pro Bono Requirement
Who’s Who of Public Service
EJF Raises More Than $30,000
Penn Law Receives Rare Honor from Burton Awards
Design Award Goes to Roberts Hall Architects
Law School Appoints Wallace New Registrar
Kolker Brings Global Outlook to LL.M. Program
New Exchange Program with Japanese Law School
Alex Kreit L’04 won Burton Award for legal writing this year.
THIS PAST SUMMER, Penn Law became only the third law school in the country (Stanford and Emory are the others) to receive the Record of Distinction Award from The Burton Foundation. The award recognizes schools with students who have won The Burton Awards for legal writing three or more years.

Noting the honor, William C. Burton, founder and chairman of The Burton Awards, wrote: “We believe that the repeated accomplishments of your students are a direct reflection of the quality of teaching, training and education provided at Penn Law.”

The Burton Awards are considered the highest honor for legal writing in the country. Commenting on Penn Law’s achievement, Anne Kringel, senior lecturer and legal writing director, said: “Penn received the Record of Distinction Award because our students have won a Burton Award every time they were nominated. The Award recognizes the strength of our students’ writing and scholarship.”

The Law School’s three winners were Aaron Kesselheim L’02, Michael Bacchus L’03, and Alex Kreit L’04.

In other news, Law School Dean Michael A. Fitts served as program director of the Holmes Debates held at the Library of Congress in June. This year the annual debate was on terrorism. Participants were academics, including Kim Lane Scheppele of Penn Law School, and members of the Justice Department, as well as William Cohen, former Secretary of Defense and Senator from Maine.
Previous Page Next Page