A Message from the Dean
Citing Curtis Reitz: Professor Marks 45 Years of Teaching
Almost Famous: The Extraordinary Career of
David L. Cohen L’81
Faculty Notes & Publications
The Board of Overseers
Alumni Events
Alumni Briefs
In Memoriam & In Tribute
End Page
Penn Law Homepage
Alumni Briefs 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9

Michael C. Rainone L'41 presented the Annual Cesare Baccaria Award from The Justinian Society to United States Court of Appeals Judge Anthony Scirica during a ceremony held in Philadelphia’s City Hall in November.

L. James Huegel L'44 was awarded an honorary doctorate of laws degree by his alma mater Franklin and Marshall College at the school’s commencement ceremonies in May.

James M. Mulligan, Jr. L’57 was this year’s recipient of the Daniel L. Herrmann Professional Conduct Award from the Delaware Bar Association. According to the Bar, this distinction is “awarded to the member of the Delaware Bar who, over the course of time, has demonstrated those qualities of courtesy and civility which, taken together with high ability and distinguished service, exemplifies the Delaware lawyer.” He is a partner with Connolly Bove Lodge & Hutz in Wilmington, Delaware.

Stuart F. Feldman L'61, one of the early advocates for the National Constitution Center, which will open in Philadelphia on Independence Day in 2003, is working to create the GI Bill Alumni Association to mobilize GI Bill beneficiaries to see that poor urban and rural children receive quality elementary and secondary education. Earlier in his career Feldman worked to gain billions of dollars in GI Bill scholarships for soldiers returning from Vietnam.

William R. Shane L'61, former chair of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, was sworn in as an Indiana County, Pennsylvania commissioner in April.

George C. Decas L'62 authored a historical biography entitled Col. Peter H. Pierce (1788-1861) A Plymouth County Life (Middleboro Historical Association, 2002).

Judah I. Labovitz C'60, L'63 of Mann, Ungar, Spector & Labovitz in Philadelphia joined the Business Litigation Practice Group of Wolf, Block, Schorr & Solis-Cohen LLP as a partner.

John F. Ledwith C'60, L'63, of Marshall, Dennehey, Warner, Coleman & Goggin, presented “Don’t Get Shifted in the Courtroom—Expert and Electronic Discovery Pitfalls” to the Federation of Defense and Corporate Counsel at its annual meeting in Boca Raton, Florida. Ledwith also coauthored the article “Additional Insured and Indemnification Issues Affecting the Insurance Industry, Coverage Counsel and Defense Counsel—Legal Advice and Practice Pointers,” which appeared in the Fall 2001 edition of FDCC Quarterly.

David H. Marion W'60, L'63 was re-elected to his fourth two-year term as chairman of Montgomery, McCracken, Walker & Rhoads, LLP in Philadelphia. Recently he was appointed to the Advisory Board of the Sedona Conference, a nonprofit research and educational institute dedicated to the study of antitrust law, complex litigation, and intellectual property rights.

Fred C. Tuboku-Metzger GL’63 was profiled by Africa News in an article entitled “Profile of Professor Tuboku-Metzger: The Architect of Legal Education” (March 2002). The article chronicled his involvement in the founding of the Sierra Leone Law School in 1990, of which he was the first dean of faculty, and the first and present director.

  Next Page