Skip to main content

2021 Architecture Awards

Voith & Mactavish Architects accepted a 2021 American Architecture Award for the renovation and restoration of historic classrooms at the University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School.

This project was the latest in a long-term partnership between VMA and Penn Carey Law, sought to recapture the original grandeur of Silverman Hall – a theme supported by students during programming – while improving its teaching spaces and offering more opportunities for students to collaborate.

Learn More about the award

Catherine Drinker Bowen

Bowen was a bestselling biographer and author who wrote several highly-regarded books about key figures and episodes in the history of Anglo-American law.

David Mann

Otto Rosa and Carmine’s Way (1996)

Edward Coppeé Mitchell

Mitchell joined the faculty of the Law School at Penn in 1873 as dean of what was then called the Law Department and Chair of Law of Real Estate, Conveyancing and Equity Jurisprudence.

Alexander Hamilton Frey

Known to his students as “Mr. Civil Rights,” Frey helped found the Pennsylvania branch of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) in 1955.

The Honorable Carolyn Engel Temin FA’55, L’58

In 2000, Judge Carolyn Engel Temin FA’55, L’58 received the Anne X. Alpern Award by the Pennsylvania Bar Association Commission on Women in the Profession.

George Washington Biddle

Prominent Philadelphia attorney George Washington Biddle is the founder of Biddle Law Library.

Lincoln the Lawyer

The Law School’s statue of President Abraham Lincoln was sculpted by Civil War veteran George Bissell.

Edwin R. Keedy

The Law School’s annual moot court competition is named in honor of Edwin R. Keedy.

George Sharswood C’1823

The Sharswood Fellowship was created in 2007 to encourage scholars committed to entering a career in legal academia.

Judge Norma Shapiro L’51

The Honorable Norma Shapiro L’51 was appointed to the Eastern District of Pennsylvania in 1978, becoming the first female judge in the Third Circuit.

James Wilson

In addition to founding the Law School, James Wilson was a member of the Continental Congress, signer of the Declaration of Independence, framer of the U.S. Constitution, and one of the original U.S. Supreme Court justices.

The Honorable A. Leon Higginbotham Jr.

Judge Higginbotham was a self-described “survivor of segregation” who become one of the country’s most prominent Black judges.

The Honorable Dolores Sloviter L’56

Judge Sloviter was the first woman to serve on the Third Circuit as well as its first woman Chief Judge.

Dr. Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander Ed’1918, G’1921, L’1927, Hon’1974

“I certainly see her as an inspiration and a role model,” said Dorothy E. Roberts, the inaugural Raymond Pace and Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander Professor of Civil Rights.

Raymond Pace Alexander W’1920

Alexander founded the first Black law firm in Philadelphia and was a prominent civil rights leader.

Hsieh-Chai (The Goat) by Henry Mitchell

Hsieh-chai was a supernatural goat-like creature endowed with a single horn and the ability to discern the guilt or innocence of those accused of crimes in ancient China.

Dr. Caroline Burnham Kilgore L’1883

Kilgore was the Law School’s first woman graduate, the first woman admitted to the Pennsylvania Bar, and the first woman admitted to the Supreme Court of the United States.

Dr. Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander Ed’1918, G’1921, L’1927, Hon’1974

In February 2021, the Law School announced three full-tuition scholarships to honor the legacy of Alexander.

Bernard G. Segal W’28, L’31, Hon’69

Segal was the first Jewish president of the ABA and a champion of civil rights.

William Polk Carey W’53

The University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School is named in recognition of the W. P. Carey Foundation’s historic donation of $125 million, the largest gift ever to a law school.

Henry Silverman L’64

Silverman’s $15 million dollar gift to the Law School supported the renovation of Silverman Hall and endowed the Silverman-Rodin Scholarship and the Henry R. Silverman Professor of Law chair.